top of page
  • Anton Torstensson

Reflections on the knee in the neck


Why does someone, in a position of authority, put their knee on the neck of a guy laying on the ground? That is not even allowed in MMA. Just do a quick google yourself and you will see. And even kids who play wrestle kind of know when to stop if it get too serious. That could for example be when the kid on the ground says he cannot breathe.


Yes, there could be circumstances which I am not aware of in the case of George Floyd which might have required handcuffs. But doesn’t even the police force have strict laws about how to exercise force? I know that in my country, Sweden, police are strictly not allowed to put a knee on someone’s back when the person is laying on the ground. Simply because the risk of choking. The Police should know this. It should have been included in their training. So why does MMA rules not allow kneeing or kicking the head of a grounded opponent. Or why does kids usually stop play fighting when someone has a hard time breathing?


Because there is a huge danger in doing that. Just look at George Floyd. It doesn’t matter if the person putting the knee in the neck is in a position of authority. It doesn’t matter if the guy on the ground is black, white, gay, straight, man, women.

Unfortunately, what happened to George Floyd goes to show that in some parts of the world a wrong skin colour combined with a person in superior authority can have a deadly outcome.


Give me one reason to not believe this is a abuse of authority. Abuse of violence. Abuse based on nothing else than skin colour. George Floyd and my friends of all colours and everyone outside mainstream stereotypes. Yu have nothing to prove. Asking someone to stop when you cannot breathe should be enough.


Those who do not understand when someone cannot breathe with a knee pushed in the neck faced down on the ground…..You have everything to prove!


 

30 visningar0 kommentarer

Senaste inlägg

Visa alla

Reach out. If neccesary shatter a plate

Ideas for a blog post can come when you least expect it. Today was like that. Let me tell you what happened. I was on my usual walk after lunch. Then right there in the front of me on the ground was a

My fried-egg-sandwich and Corona

#corona #covid19 #stayhome I have never been a refugee. I have never been in war. I never had to drop everything and leave. Until Corona broke out. Thats what makes it so strange. I mean, society basi

bottom of page